Vauxhall Primary

Vauxhall Primary School
Vauxhall images

VPS named Primary School of the Year 2016!



London, 24 June 2016: Vauxhall Primary School, has taken the ‘Primary School of the Year’ award at the prestigious 2016 TES Schools Awards. The awards, now in their eighth year, recognise outstanding contributions made by education teams and individuals to help students around the country to succeed, both inside and outside the classroom.


Despite serving one of the most deprived areas in London, Vauxhall Primary School’s sustained pedagogical innovation means that pupil achievement at the school is among the highest in the country. Acquiring basic literacy and numeracy skills is seen as fundamental for pupils’ future and the school’s rigorous phonics and maths programmes have helped close the attainment gap between disadvantaged children and their peers by the end of key stage 2.


The judges said: ‘Vauxhall Primary School stands out for its extremely high expectations and ambitious and inspirational delivery of an exciting curriculum. Children achieve highly and foster a deep love of learning.’


Ann Mroz, Editor, TES, commented: “Vauxhall Primary School is an outstanding example of excellence in education, demonstrating a relentless drive to innovate and improve...”


Winners attended a black-tie event in at the Grosvenor House Hotel, London, hosted by TV host and comedian Dara Ó Briain, where over 1,000 attendees celebrated all that is outstanding in UK education, from the efforts of individual teachers to the work of entire schools.


There are 17 awards categories including the flagship individual titles: Teacher of the Year, Lifetime Achievement and Headteacher of the Year, and awards for teams and/or teachers in areas such as maths, arts and drama, English, science technology and engineering.


The winners were chosen by a panel of judges including Colin Bell, the chief executive of the Council of British International Schools, Dame Joan McVittie, former headteacher of Woodside High School, Sir Tim Brighouse, former schools commissioner for London and Colin Hegarty, maths teacher and founder of HegartyMaths.